Is there any gluten-free sushi?

If you are like us, then you must be a sushi lover too! Who wouldn’t love this yummiest healthy meal? But wait, is it a nutritious meal?

Well, generally sushi is considered a healthy and light meal to have. But there is something that you should know, this famous dish contains raw fish and is eaten with soy sauce which has an excessive amount of salt in it.

Below we have gathered some important facts about sushi. Let’s take a look.

Is Sushi Gluten-Free?

No, sushi is not gluten-free, especially the ones that contain tempura and fake crab meat also called Surimi. Any filling which is made with soy sauce is not healthy to eat, and those folks who are on a gluten-free diet must stay at a safe distance from it. Also, there’s a possibility that the wasabi and the vinegar used in the making of sushi rice contain gluten in them.

Is there any gluten-free sushigoodforyouglutenfree.com

If you are sensitive to gluten, you must make sure that the sushi you are eating is safe for you. However, sushi can be your go-to restaurant meal if you know how to order a gluten-free one.

The ingredients in the recipe of sushi are all healthy and safe to eat, like fish, vegetables, the rice they all comprise and are gluten-free. However, still gluten can infiltrate your sushi in different ways. For instance, the soya sauce used in the making of sushi Is made from wheat and the surimi which is used as a filling in the sushi is made from wheat starch. You see, how difficult it is to avoid gluten in your food as it is present in almost everything.

If you know which specific ingredients to avoid, you can work out with the chef to make gluten-free sushi for yourself.

Sushi that contains Gluten:

The ready-made and fast-food-type sushi available at supermarkets or small sushi outlets that come at cheap prices is the last thing on earth that one should eat. It contains surimi in it which is not a real crab and is made from a white fish that is grounded and wrapped with starch along with some other seasonings to give a taste of a real crab. This type of sushi is available with the name of California rolls.

All the ingredients used in the making of surimi along with the starch, contain gluten. Thereby California rolls must be avoided by especially those who have celiac disease.

Is there any gluten-free sushi easyhomemadesushi.com

Most sushi restaurants are unaware of the fact that surimi contains gluten, so you have to do your research before ordering it. Do not take a chance until you are fully assured that the surimi your restaurant is providing is gluten-free. You can also check the ingredients list for that purpose.

Additionally, sushi rolls that have tempura dipped veggies or meat most often contain gluten. But how so? The batter of tempura is usually made from flour so everything that is dipped into it contains gluten. This type of sushi is very easy to identify due to its crispy-coated appearance.

Sushi rolls with Marinated meat filling:

Some sushi rolls have marinated meat fillings, normally unagi (freshwater fish) is used for this purpose. Tuna and salmon are also used but they are less common. The marination batter is made from soy and teriyaki sauce which again means gluten is there in the form of soya sauce.

Therefore, be careful before choosing sushi from the menu as the marinaded ones contain gluten. However, if the restaurant claims to have a gluten-free marinade for sushi rolls then you can give it a try.

sushihowsushi.com

Furthermore, the eye-catchy green batter of wasabi that adds a burst of flavors to the dish could be a threat for celiac patients because there are very few restaurants in the US that use real wasabi. Most of them make it from a mixture of mustard, horseradish, and food coloring which contain starch.

In such cases, to be 100% sure, always ask the restaurant to let you check the ingredients of your chosen sushi or you can also bring your authentic wasabi to the restaurant. It is available in a powdered form at Asian grocery stores or you can order it too from Sushi Sonic or Pacific Farms.

Tips to avoid Gluten in sushi:

  • Don’t go for fancy options, instead stay stick to the basics. This will increase the chances of you getting gluten-free sushi as it will be free of marinades and crispy fillings that contain gluten.
  • Ask for gluten or starch-free dips and sauces.
  • Review the ingredients of sushi before ordering.

Is sushi gluten-free? No, it’s not because gluten can easily crash into sushi without you knowing it. But you can work on it by expressing your concerns to the chef. For celiac patients, ready-made sushi is a strict no as it is barely made from gluten-free ingredients.

Leave a Comment